subscribe: Posts | Comments

Carnivores Tour – AFI, 30 Seconds to Mars, Linkin Park – Parc Jean-Drapeau, Montreal

Comments Off on Carnivores Tour – AFI, 30 Seconds to Mars, Linkin Park – Parc Jean-Drapeau, Montreal

Carnivores Tour – AFI, 30 Seconds to Mars, Linkin Park – Parc Jean-Drapeau, Montreal

Linkin Park - August 23th 2014 - Parc Jean Drapeau- Photo by Andrej Ivanov

Linkin Park – August 23th 2014 – Parc Jean Drapeau- Photo by Andrej Ivanov

After a long wait, the Carnivores tour came to Montreal. It featured three big names in rock: AFI, the dark post-hardcore/alternative rock band from Ukiah, California; 30 Seconds to Mars, Jared Leto’s alt rock band from LA; and finally, Linkin Park.


The first band on the bill was AFI, met with an eruption of fans cheering the minute the first chords of The Leaving Song part II came on. Davey Havok’s energy translated through a variety of stage antics, running around from one end to the other, jumping off various platforms and using the stage to its maximum capacity, whilst belting out hits off of the entire AFI discography repertoire.  He wasn’t the only one who gave a stunning performance. Bassist, Hunter Burgan and guitarist Jade Puget all were ever present and interacting. It was, overall, an orgy of crowd servicing (climaxing with Havok walking on top of the crowd), old and new hits, from Days of the Phoenix, the single off their first album to 17 crimes, their latest single, all the while passing through Silver and Cold, from Sing the Sorrow, and Miss Murder, and a variety of other hits. At the end of the day, there is only so much one can do in an around-an-hour slot, but AFI did an outstanding job at bringing it back to our angsty teenage years and making us feel 13-16 again.


1. The Leaving Song Pt. II
2. Girl’s Not Grey
3. I Hope You Suffer
4. Medicate
5. Love Like Winter
6. 17 Crimes
7. The Days of the Phoenix
8. Silver and Cold
9. Miss Murder

[nggallery id= 283]


Next up was 30 Seconds to Mars, opening up their set with a piece from Carmina Burana, while the fans met the start of the show with an palpable energy. The cheers were astronomical as the band came on stage. Then came Leto, waving a 30 Seconds to Mars, and in a bout of eccentricity and ego-overinflation, came out dressed as some rendition of Jesus, with a white coat and a crown atop his head. He even posed as Buddy Jesus from Dogma, as well Jesus on the cross. Maybe the choice of paraphernalia was not appropriate, but the fans were ravished by it and ate up as the band delivered a plethora of hits. Towards the end, the mood shifted when they delivered their older hits, which were met with even more enthusiasm. That being said, a faux-pas was a performance of Pantera’s Cowboys from Hell, which, simply put, had no place to be played there. Overall, it felt as though Leto was a touch off pitch, and could not deliver his higher vocals. But in the end, despite his eccentric style, Leto and 30 Seconds to Mars are a good musician, and when it comes together, it comes together well; and overall, the die-hard fans ate it up, and that is what counts.


O Fortuna (intro)
1. Up in the Air
2. Search and Destroy
3. This Is War
4. Conquistador
5. Kings and Queens
6. Do or Die
7. City of Angels
8. End of All Days
9. Attack/Hurricane/Bad Romance
10. From Yesterday
11. The Kill (Bury Me)
12.  Cowboys from Hell
13. Closer to the Edge

[nggallery id= 284]


Last but not came the grand finale. Linkin Park took over the stage with such a varying style that felt such a natural flow to them, that in the end it didn’t even matter what they played. From the first chords to Guilty All the Same to the last chords of Bleed it Out, everything made sense. Chester Bennington belted out screams (despite having have voice box surgery), Mike Shinoda rapped with flow, Brad Delson, Dave Farrell and Rob Bourdon ripped through their instruments, and most importantly, Joe Hahn spun his tables. It is always truly impressive to see this band, simply due to the fact of the many years of stage experience that they have, as well as that they have the complete “original” line-up pretty much still intact/reunited. It is also impressive to see how well they can lead the crowd through a 27 song setlist, lasting well into a 2-hour show, and make it feel as though only a fraction of that time has passed. Methodically, they take you through a ride of heavier songs at first, such as Given Up, Papercut,  One Step Closer, but will then shamelessly shift into a lighter sound, with a medley of the ballads,  Leave Out All the Rest, Shadow of the Day, and Iridescent. Afterwards they shifted more to their hip-hop, with a Joe Hahn solo, oddly sounding like Cure for the Itch. Then, on came the hits, with some twists. Numb was played as mix of the original and the Jay-Z remix, Numb/Encore. In the End, the song that propelled them to fame, was not played last, thankfully, but they omitted to play Crawling. Despite that, a nice surprise was tossed in when the band performed Mike Shinoda’s solo project Fort Minor’s Remember the Name. Overall, this band showed was 10+ years of touring and playing together can mean for a band, and how they can weave in an outstanding setlist.

Overall, the Carnivores tour did not disappoint, and seeing three enormous names in one night made the wait well worth it.


1. Guilty All the Same
2. Given Up
3. With You
4. One Step Closer
5. Blackout
6. Papercut
7. Rebellion
8. Runaway
9. Wasteland
10. Castle of Glass
11. Leave Out All the Rest/Shadow of the Day/Iridescent
12. Robot Boy
13. Solo by Joe Hahn avec Wretches and Kings, Victimized remix, Buy Myself, etc
14. Numb (Numb/Encore)
15. Waiting for the End
16. Finale Masquerade
17. Wretches and Kings/Remember the Name
18. Lying From You
19. Somewhere I Belong
20. In the End
21. Faint
22. Burn It Down
23. Lost in the Echo
24. New Divide
25. Until It’s Gone
26. What I’ve Done
27. Bleed It Out

[nggallery id= 285]

Written and Photographed by Andrej Ivanov


The Scene