subscribe: Posts | Comments

Jennifer Dettman and Christine Shipton named to Academy Board

Comments Off on Jennifer Dettman and Christine Shipton named to Academy Board

Jennifer Dettman and Christine Shipton named to Academy Board

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television Chairman Martin Katz is pleased to announce that Jennifer Dettman, CBC’s Executive Director of Studio and Unscripted Content, and Christine Shipton, Shaw Media’s Vice President of Original Content, joined the Academy’s Board of Directors, effective immediately.

“The addition of two of the country’s most well-respected broadcast executives further strengthens the Board’s industry relationships and expertise. Their proven record of creativity matched with fiscal strength will be a great addition to the Board,” says Academy Chair Martin Katz.

Jennifer Dettman, Executive Director of Studio and Unscripted Content, CBC

Jennifer Dettman is a senior CBC executive whose leadership and bold vision have shaped what it means to be a relevant modern broadcaster in today’s media landscape.

In her new role as Executive Director of Studio and Unscripted Content, Jennifer oversees all factual entertainment, unscripted comedy, live event specials and arts programming for CBC Television (including Dragons’ Den, Battle of the Blades and others), as well as all sports programming including Hockey Night in Canada (the most successful hockey program in history), the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio, 2014 FIFA World Cup Soccer and the 2015 Pan Am Games to be held in Toronto.

Over the course of an impressive 15+ years in the industry — starting in radio and extending through television and online “second screen” content — Jennifer has earned three Gemini Awards, a Gracie Award and the 2011 President’s Award for excellence in programming content and leadership.  She has also been the driving creative force behind many of CBC’s most successful franchises, including George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight, Steven & Chris, Best Recipes Ever, and others.

As a leader with true vision, Jennifer was the mind behind CBC’s One Million Acts of Green, she pioneered and launched their new Branded Entertainment division, and has recently taken over as the Executive Director of Studio and Unscripted Content where she puts her fingerprint on a full third of programming content including the development, production and commissioning of all talk shows, game shows, afternoon lifestyle, reality, live event specials, unscripted comedy, arts programming and sports.

Jennifer is a respected award winning media executive renowned for her cutting edge vision, shrewd business acumen, and for pushing the boundaries of public broadcasting, creating exciting new initiatives that both engage and entertain audiences across Canada and around the world.

Christine Shipton, Vice President of Original Content, Shaw Media

As Vice President, Original Content, Christine Shipton oversees all development and commissioning of Canadian original programming for the Shaw Media 19 specialty channels and for Global Television.

A seasoned executive, Christine joined Shaw Media (then Canwest) in May 2005, coming from Blueprint Entertainment, a production company dedicated to producing and financing television productions for the North American and world markets.

She has held a variety of senior positions in both broadcast and production organizations, including head of programming for W Network, VP of Canadian Television for Landscape Entertainment Canada, Alliance Atlantis Television and Alliance Communications as EVP of Canadian Drama, as well as Production Executive and Casting Director for CBC Television.

Christine has been responsible as Creative Executive for developing, overseeing and managing some great Canadian programming throughout her career, including Rookie Blue(ABC/Global), Continuum, Bomb Girls,  Deal or No Deal Canada, Due South, Ice Pilots NWT, Global Currents, Street Legal, North of 60, and most recently Canada Sings, Big Brother Canada and Bomb Girls.

Academy Board of Directors

The Academy Board members are from all areas of film, television and digital media.
Martin Katz|Academy Chair|President, Prospero Pictures
Robin Mirsky|Academy Vice-Chair|Executive Director, Rogers Group of Funds
Gabriel Nachman|Treasurer|Retired Partner PriceWaterhouseCoopers
Barry Avrich|President, BT/A Advertising
Julie Bristow|President & CEO, Bristow Global Media
Paul Bronfman|Chairman & CEO of Comweb Corp. and William F. White International Inc.
Don Carmody|Producer, Don Carmody Productions
Jennifer Dettman |Executive Director of Studio and Unscripted Content, CBC
Jonas Diamond|Executive Producer, Smiley Guy Studios
Anne Fitzgerald|Chief Legal Officer, Cineplex Entertainment
Harris Fricker|Chief Executive Officer, GMP Capital Inc.
Scott Henderson|VP Communications, Bell Media
Robert Lantos|Producer, Serendipity Point Films Inc.
Christine Shipton |Vice President of Original Content, Shaw Media
Gary Slaight|President & CEO Slaight Communications
Mark Slone|SVP, Acquisitions, Entertainment One Films Canada
John Young|Managing Director, Temple Street Productions
Special Advisor|Richard Speer, Quebec Chair (effective Jan. 1, 2013)



Page 509 of 601« First...102030...507508509510511...520530540...Last »