subscribe: Posts | Comments

Armonite – The Sun Is New Each Day – Album Review

Comments Off on Armonite – The Sun Is New Each Day – Album Review
[bandcamp width=600 height=720 album=2957688352 size=large bgcol=333333 linkcol=e32c14 tracklist=false]

Armonite’s The Sun Is New Each Day is an intense release of intricate progressive rock. Armonite is composer Paolo Fosso on keys and Jacopo Bigi shredding the electric violin, featuring Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree) on bass and crazy Dutch drummer Jasper Barendregt. The album was recorded at PFL Studio in Pavia, Italy, produced by Paul Reeve (Muse) and mastered at London’s Abbey Road Studios by Geoff Pesche. Together this group of incredibly talented people has created a cerebral LP that dances around the conventions of modern music.

9-tracks highlight a completely unique brand of violin-led post rock music, it’s melodic, heavy and intricate. The first track and video single “Suitcase War” previews an incredible blend of sounds that only continue to evolve throughout the album. Along with the hard and fast drumming the bow-drawn strings could easily pass for a masterful electric guitar riff on a heavy metal track. “’G’ as in Gears” breaks the instrumental pattern with a short poetic vocal addition, followed up by the very Arabian vibed “Sandstorm”. “Satellites” mixes classically influenced string sections with electronic synth melodies. The last track “Insert Coin” infuses 8-bit sounds giving a video game effect, contrasting with the aforementioned classical and rock influences, which makes for a surprisingly comprehensive experimental sound.

Internationally created while drawing from past and present influences, The Sun Is New Each Day, is overrun with energetic compositions and original ideas.

[youtube width=”600″ height=”338″ src=”″ frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen]

1) Suitcase war
2) Connect Four
3) ‘G’ as in Gears
4) Sandstorm
5) Slippery Slope
6) Satellites
7) Die Grauen Herren
8) Le temps qui fait ta rose
9) Insert Coin


Page 1 of 1012345...10...Last »