subscribe: Posts | Comments

CMW 2016 announce live music industry awards

Comments Off on CMW 2016 announce live music industry awards

CMW 2016 announce live music industry awards

live music industry awards

Canadian Music Week announced the nominees for the 1st annual Live Music Industry Awards today. Over 100 outstanding individuals from across the Canadian music and live industries spanning over 20 categories will be honoured on Saturday, May 7 at The Sheraton Centre Hotel. The full list of nominees is below. If you love to listen to music at home too, take a look at for some great ideas on how to improve your Hi-Fi.

This celebratory brunch-style event will honour the achievements of artists and individuals supporting music festivals, live music venues, artist agencies, music programs and more – both Canadian and international – including a special LEGENDS OF LIVE award to honour Canada’s own, Blue Rodeo. The International Agent of the Year award will be awarded to the Head of Worldwide Music, United Talent Agency’s Neil Warnock from the United Kingdom and SOCAN will honour a Canadian venue with the special first ever Licensed to Play award. This year’s award show will be hosted by Damian Abraham of Fucked Up and Collective Concert’s Jeff Cohen.

The Live Music Industry Awards is created by Canadian Music Week in partnership with the International Festival Network (IFN) and Music Canada Live, and promises to be a memorable highlight of CMW’s Live Music Summit. CMW would like to thank it’s sponsors Live Nation, Air Canada Centre, SiriusXM, Access Event Solutions, Stubhub, Medtech Wristbands, Molson, Jim Beam, Fielding Estate Winery and Stageline.

Venue: The Sheraton Centre Hotel | Toronto (123 Queen Street West, Toronto)
Date: Saturday May 7, 2016
Doors: 10:00am EST


International Festival of the Year *presented by Medtech Wristbands
Glastonbury (UK)
Bestival (UK)
Latitude Festival (UK)
T in the Park (UK/Scotland)
Electric Picnic (Ireland)

New Kid on the Block (Best New Festival)
Wayhome Music and Arts Festival (ON – Oro Medonte)
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
FVDED in the Park (BC – Surrey)
Interstellar Rodeo (AB and MB)
TURF – Toronto Urban Roots Fest (ON – Toronto)

Best Family Program at a Festival
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
Hillside Festival (ON – Toronto)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB – Winnipeg)
Calgary Folk Festival – (AB – Calgary)
Halifax International Busker Festival (NS – Halifax)

Small Festival of the Year (6000 and under)
Hillside Festival (ON – Toronto)
CBC Festival (ON – Toronto)
Interstellar Rodeo (AB and MB)
Evolve Festival (NS – Antigonosh)
Wolf Island Music Festival (ON – Kingston)

Medium Festival of the Year (6001 to 15,000)
Field Trip Music & Arts Festival (ON – Toronto)
Shambhala Music Festival (BS – Salmo River Ranch)
SONiC Boom (AB – Edmonton)
TURF – Toronto Urban Roots Fest (ON –Toronto)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (AB – Winnipeg)

Major Festival of the Year *presented by SiriusXM
Boots & Hearts (ON – Oro Medonte)
Osheaga Music and Arts Festival (QC – Montreal)
RBC Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)
Squamish Valley Music Festival (BC – Squamish)
Wayhome Music and Arts Festival (ON – Oro Medonte)

Not-for-Profit Festival of the Year
Festival D’ete de Quebec (QC – Quebec City)
Luminato Festival (ON – Toronto)
City Fest (ON – Ottawa)
Vancouver Jazz Festival (BC – Vancouver)
Calgary Folk Festival (AB – Calgary)

Green Operations Festival of the Year *presented by Stageline
Hillside Festival (ON – Guelph)
Osheaga Music and Arts Festival (QC – Montreal)
Piknic Electronik (QC – Montreal)
RBC Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB – Winnipeg)

Teamwork Award – Arena of the Year
Air Canada Centre (ON – Toronto)
Bell Centre (QC – Montreal)
Budweiser Gardens (ON – London)
Rexall Place (AB – Edmonton)
Rogers Arena (BC – Vancouver)

Teamwork Award – Soft Seat Theatre/Performing Arts Centre of the Year
Jack Singer Concert Hall (AB – Calgary)
Massey Hall (ON – Toronto)
Orpheum Theatre (BC – Vancouver)
Place Des Arts (QC – Montreal)
Sony Centre for the Performing Arts (ON – Toronto)

Teamwork Award – Major Club of the Year (1000+ cap)
Commodore Ballroom (BC – Vancouver)
Danforth Music Hall (ON – Toronto)
London Music Hall (ON – London)
Metropolis (QC – Montreal)
Phoenix Concert Theatre (ON – Toronto)

Teamwork Award – Medium Club of the Year (300-999 cap)
Horseshoe Tavern (ON – Toronto)
Marquee Beer Market (AB – Calgary)
Corona Theatre (QC – Montreal)
Mod Club (ON – Toronto)
Venue (BC – Vancouver)

Teamwork Award – Small Club of the Year (less than 300)
Carleton Music Bar & Grill (NS – Halifax)
Park Theatre Winnipeg (MB – Winnipeg)
Petit Campus (QC – Montreal)
The Drake Underground (ON – Toronto)
Fox Cabaret (BC – Vancouver)

Agent of the Year (Canada) *presented by Live Nation
Adam Countryman (United Talent Agency)
Jeff Craib (Feldman Agency)
Julien Paquin (Paquin Artists Agency)
Rob Zifarelli (United Talent Agency)
Tom Kemp (Feldman Agency)

Manager of the Year *presented by Air Canada Centre
Joel Carriere (Bedlam Music Management)
Oliver El Khatib (OVO)
Ron Kitchener (RGK Entertainment)
Shauna de Cartier (Six Shooter)
Tony Sal and Amir Esmailian (XO/Sal & Co)

Road Warrior of the Year (Tour Manager)
Dave Gardiner (The Arkells and more)
Donny Cooper (The Sheepdogs and more)
Doug McKendrick (Dean Brody and more)
Karen “Keeks” Weigold (July Talk and more)
Louisa Key (The Tragically Hip and more)

Production Manager of the Year (Festival/Concert) *presented by Access Event Solutions
Dave Fortune (Pemberton Music Festival and more)
Duncan Blair (Evenko – Osheaga and more)
Larry Fitzpatrick (Live Nation)
Lina Beaudin (Nordest / We Day)
Vanessa Arscott (Plan V / Wayhome and more)

Canadian Independent Regional Promoter of the Year
Embrace Presents (ON – Toronto)
Blue Skies Turn Black (ON – Montreal)
Collective Concerts (ON – Toronto)
Sonic Concerts (NB/NS)
Timber Concerts (BC – Vancouver)

Canadian Festival Buyer of the Year
Adam Gill / Embrace (ON – Toronto)
Erik Hoffman / Live Nation (BC – Vancouver)
Nick Blasko and Team Evenko / Evenko (QC – Montreal)
Louis Bellavance / Festival D’ete de Quebec (QC – Quebec City)
Mark Monohan / Ottawa Bluesfest (ON – Ottawa)

A/V Production Company of the Year
Christie Lites
KIAN Concert Sound Services Ltd.
Solotech Canada
Westbury National

Brand / Music Program of the Year
AMEX Front of the Line
Jim Beam Make History
Molson Canadian #thisislive
Redbull Sound Select
TD Music Access

Breakthrough Touring Artist of the Year
Alessia Cara
Dear Rouge
July Talk
Scott Helman
Tim Hicks

Music City of the Year (International)
Austin, TX (USA)
Berlin, Germany (Germany)
London, England (United Kingdom)
Nashville, TN (USA)
New York, NY (USA)

Music City of the Year (Canadian)

For more information:



The Scene