subscribe: Posts | Comments

Guy Grogan – Dynamite Bouquet – Album Review

Comments Off on Guy Grogan – Dynamite Bouquet – Album Review

Dynamite Bouquet CD cover

The ninth release from Guy Grogan, Dynamite Bouquet is a crass, noisy indie rock album. The practiced Santa Fe rocker knows how to craft a well-round album. The dynamic sound provides waves of sonic surf breaks and tubular riffage, composition comes off meticulous while the delivery is unhinged. The vocal work is subpar but that never stopped Bob Dylan, strong instrumentals and words sung with passion transcend the superficially unsound singing.

An eclectic mix of songs, everyone is bound to find one or two summer soundtrack fillers in the group. My favourite track “Nowhere Is Paradise” uses a scratchy distorted guitar riff to break the ice of an upbeat, pop-influenced tune. Then we have “Moonbird” bringing a smooth jazzy edge to the record. From the opening garage rock anthem “My Own Way Out” to the soft melodic “What If I Told You” concluding track Grogan keeps the brain interested and the head bobbing along.


1) My Own Way Out
2) Metafixation
3) River Like A Cry
4) Now I’m Me From You
5) A Ghost Too Soon
6) Nowhere Is Paradise
7) Pseudo Euphoria
8) Moonbird
9) Waterfalls
10) What If I Told You


Griffin Elliot